Font

I have been having trouble finding fonts that suit my infographic. It is important my text supports my imagery without upstaging it. I researched effective use of fonts in infographics and learnt a few useful tips that will help me edit my text and choose appropriate fonts.

Fonts can work like colours and can highlight certain text over other text. I can apply this to my headings and ingredients lists – by making them different fonts I can create a hierarchy and make the headings separate to the ingredients list. Choosing fonts with the rest of the infographic in mind is also effective as it should match the tone or personality of the images and colours used in the work. This has helped me consider fonts that are appropriate rather than just what ‘looks cool’.

This research and the content covered in class has made finding fonts clearer and easier for me. I will choose fonts that are simple, elegant and classic to complement the tone of my infographic.

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/12/14/what-font-should-i-use-five-principles-for-choosing-and-using-typefaces/

http://piktochart.com/how-to-not-create-junk-infographics/

One thought on “Font

Leave a Reply

